Superior safety categories


There are various types of type-approvals and safety certification with regard to horse riding helmets and each one has different requirements: this is why it is important to choose the helmet with the greatest number of certifications possible.
Each certification refers to a specific combination of standards to which the helmets must conform in order to be awarded the certification.
KEP Italia helmets are amongst the safest riding helmets in the world; conforming to the requirements of three different types of standard, they have been awarded five different certifications. These are:
The European CE, which refers to standard VG1 01.040 2014-12
The American and Canadian SEI, which refer to standard ASTM F1163/2015
The British KITEMARK, which refers to standard PAS015:2011
The British KITEMARK, which refers to standard VG1 01.040 2014-12
The British IC MARK, which refers to standard VG1 01.040 2014-12

European CE certification

The CE VG1 01.040 2014-12 standard is a European requirement and was reviewed at the end of 2014.


American and Canadian SEI certification

The SEI/ASTM F1163/2015 standard is required in America and in Canada.


British KITEMARK certification

KITEMARK is awarded by the BSI.


British IC Mark certification

The IC Mark EN 1384 is the British certification.


PAS015: 2011 KITE MARK

The PAS015: 2011KITE MARK is the British standard.



A type-approval is a combination of rules with which riding helmets must comply in order to be marketed in a given country. The bodies that issue the certification are the same that certify that a determined riding helmet model conforms to these rules in all their interpretations.